At the 50k, I didn't have the race I envisioned. Not even close. I never felt good and it got ugly--quickly. I knew pretty early on that I would have to back way off my race plan to complete the distance. I initiated the back off and then it took on a life of it's own. Growing, growing, growing.
I'm not sure what went wrong...if my training was the culprit then I think it would have hit me much later in the race, not so dang super early. My fueling was good and I felt ready for it. I may have had a touch of a bug--Pepto and I had a few visits the week leading up to the race, but I'm not convinced this was a factor. I got really cold fairly early in the race, due to the rain and wind. I was literally shaking from the cold while running, although I would occassionally warm up if the rain let up. I probably should have stopped to get some more clothes, but I didn't. These don't amount to much, but excuses. It simply boils down to: It just wasn't my day.
I spent a lot of time contemplating dropping out, wondering if I was doing more harm than good. But, in retrospect I'm glad I finished. If for nothing else, to hold onto a bit of self-discipline.
With the writing of this posting (finally!!), I'm tucking it away and moving on. May 29th is the next big thing.
![]() |
| I don't know why I can't rotate this... |


No comments:
Post a Comment